> Can whomever runs the wiki forum take this to heart? I've noticed some
> spam being posted on the wiki, and the last thing I need is for
> something illegal to get posted.
>
> --Russell
>
> Forwarded by Russell Miller <rmiller@duskglow.com>
> ----------------------- Original Message -----------------------
> From: restaurantlancaster <restaurantlancaster@gmail.com>
> To: apache@katesama.duskglow.com
> Date: Thu, 28 Oct 2010 22:41:56 -0700
> Subject: Auto-Response: Do not auto-approve this forum account, it was created by a forum spammer. Re: Your Tiki information registration (wiki.opengraphics.org)
> ----
>
> You're receiving this message because your forum software is still
> allowing a user to complete the first part of registration to your
> forum with an easy password. This is an auto-response to your forum's
> confirmation message. That means your security settings are way too
> low on your forum, even if you are manually approving new accounts.
>
> The account which created this forum account did so using automated
> means. The reason was so that he could post a forum account and then
> use it to automatically post thousands of fake messages to your forum
> to promote some form of ridiculous product there.
>
> In all likelihood your website has nothing to do with whatever this
> idiot is promoting, but in any case you definitely do not want to be
> promoting this scumbag's websites.
>
> Delete this account, and any other account tied to the email address
> which sent you this automated response.
>
> The way to prevent this activity from continuing is to make all new
> registrations require a more complex, secure password. Increase the
> required length and make sure it requires uppercase, lowercase and
> punctuation characters. Do not allow automated self-registration of
> new accounts. If you've been getting a lot of messages like the one
> you're reading now, that means your forum is still far too easy to
> register at, even if you manually approve the accounts.
>
> Apologies for any further inconveniences this message causes.
>
> Sincerely,
>
> Random Digilante
>
>
http://randomdigilante.blogspot.com/
>
>
> --------------------- Original Message Ends --------------------
>
> --
> Russell Miller <rmiller@duskglow.com>
>
> _______________________________________________
> Open-graphics mailing list
>
Open-graphics@duskglow.com
>
http://lists.duskglow.com/mailman/listinfo/open-graphics
> List service provided by Duskglow Consulting, LLC (
www.duskglow.com)
>